Blue Corporation

Time Zones

Australia is the world’s sixth largest country with a land mass of approximately 7.7 million square kilometres. Hence, it is divided into three separate time zones.

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)
Applies to the eastern states of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. AEST is equivalent to Universal Time Coordinator plus 10 hours (UTC +10).

Australian Central Standard Time (ACST)
Applies to the state of South Australia, western New South Wales (Broken Hill) and the Northern Territory. ACST is equivalent to Universal Time Coordinator plus 9 ½ hours (UTC +9 ½).

Australian Western Standard Time (AWST)
Applies to Western Australia. AWST is equivalent to Universal Time Coordinator plus 8 hours (UTC +8).

Daylight Saving

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of advancing clocks one hour during the warmer months of the year. In Australia, Daylight saving is observed in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, and the Australian Capital Territory.

Daylight Saving Time begins at 2am on the first Sunday in October, when clocks are put forward one hour. It ends at 0200hr (0300hr DST) on the first Sunday in April, when clocks are put back one hour.

Where Daylight saving is observed:

  • NSW, ACT,Vic and Tas shift from AEST to Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), and clocks are expedited to UTC +11.
  • SA and the western NSW (Broken Hill) shift from ACST to Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT), and clocks are expedited to UTC +10 ½.
  • Daylight saving is not observed in Western Australia, Queensland, and the Northern Territory.