More about Australia

All about the states… 

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) is a small territory in Australia. It was created as the home for the Australian capital city, Canberra, because of fighting between New South Wales and Victoria over where the capital city should be! This is like the equivalent of Washington D.C. in our context.
Famous Icons – Parliament House


Queensland (QLD) is a state in eastern Australia. It is the second largest state by area and the third largest state by population. It occupies the north-east corner of Australia. The state has the Northern Territory to the west, South Australia to the south-west and New South Wales to the south. To the east, Queensland is bordered by the Coral Sea and Pacific Ocean. The capital city is Brisbane.
Famous Icons – Great Barrier Reef, theme parks

New South Wales (NSW) is one of the states of Australia. It the oldest state in Australia and is sometimes called the “Premier State”. Of all Australian states, New South Wales has the most people, and the capital city of New South Wales is Sydney. Sydney is thus, the biggest city in Australia.
Famous Icons – Sydney Opera House, Blue Mountains

The Northern Territory (NT) is a territory of Australia, which the capital city is Darwin. The Northern Territory has large areas of desert as well as many important places such as Uluru, or Ayers Rock. The rock is sacred to the native Aboriginals.
Famous Icons – Uluru (Ayer Rocks)

South Australia (SA) is one of the six states of Australia. The Capital city is Adelaide. South Australia is in the southern central part of the country.
Famous Icons – St Peter’s Cathedral

Tasmania (TAS) is a large island off the southern coast of mainland Australia. It is a state of Australia. Its capital and the largest city is Hobart. The island was joined to the mainland until the end of the most recent ice age approximately 10 000 years ago.
Famous Icons – Aurora, Tasmania Devil

Victoria (VIC) is a state in Australia, in the south-east corner of the country. Its capital, largest and most-populated city is Melbourne. Victoria has the highest population density of a state in Australia.
Famous Icons – The Twelve Apostles, Queen Victoria Market

Western Australia (WA) is one of the six states of Australia. It is the biggest state in Australia measured by amount of land (which is one-third of the whole of Australia). Our capital city is Perth, where we are located.
Western Australia is also home to plenty of extraordinary experiences, the likes of which can only be found right here. WA boasts the largest collection of wildflowers on the planet, some of the whitest beaches in the country and one of only a few places world-wide where you can swim with the ocean’s largest fish.
Famous Icons – Quokka, Pinnacles, Wave Rock, Busselton Jetty, Fremantle, Kings Park… and lots more. Come find out for yourself!